coromandal


convocation of strangers
April 9, 2010, 3:57 pm
Filed under: chronotopes, departure lounge | Tags: ,

I found this on Melissa Holbrook Pierson’s lovely blog It’s Nelly’s World – worth way more time than I’ve spent with it.

I was like this growing up, still am, like a body held in sway and pulled here and away by desire, claustrophobia, loneliness, friendship, shame and – in eternal hope – love.

It once seemed that my whole life was just one long reluctant approach to the party, followed by retreat. And approach again. From the dark outside I would enter, the bar, the club, the private party. The sight of the people inside, a huge gang of togetherness, would hit me like the wall of heat when you open an oven door. I would stand there, furtively scanning the floor, or the fire exit more likely, quivering inwardly from a fear I could not name. After a couple of hours of gripping the bricks with my fingernails behind my back, never speaking to a soul, and invisible to all of them anyway, I would put my coat back on and re-enter the night cold outside for the subway trip back home. There was both relief and inestimable sadness in this moment. Look! I can be abandoned by people I don’t even know yet!

But hope sprang eternal in some gland, and the next weekend I would ride the train to some other convocation of strangers. Return home again.

Convivial, Melissa Holbrook Pierson, It’s Nelly’s World

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

